About Us

Gateway BMED Fund Mission Statement

The mission of the Fund is to provide a long-term solution to control escalating benefit costs while providing programs for employees to obtain quality care.

Our mission has been accomplished by:

  • More effective management of claims/payments
  • Negotiating with area providers to lower claims costs
  • Negotiating with national networks for access to specialized facilities
  • Providing support in bargaining unit contract negotiations
  • Educating employees

Click here for an informational overview brochure to learn more about the Bergen Municipal (Gateway/BMED) Employee Benefits Fund.

2021 Executive Committee

Chairperson Gregory Hart, Borough of Franklin Lakes
Secretary Richard Kunze, Borough of Oakland
Members Joseph Catenaro, Fairfield Township
  Gregory Franz, Township of Edgewater
  Donna Gambutti, Township of South Hackensack
Matthew Cavallo, Township of Verona
Bob Kakoleski, Borough of Rutherford
Alternates Anthony Ciannamea, Moonachie Borough
Richard Molinari, Saddle River

Fund Commissioners

Alpine* Paul Tomasko
Borough of Woodcliff Lake Tom Padilla
Carlstadt Joseph Crifasi
Carlstadt Board of Education
City of East Orange
City of Orange Christopher Hartwyk
East Rutherford John Hansen
East Rutherford Board of Education Lameka Augustin
Edgewater Gregory Franz
Emerson Robert Hermansen
Fairfield Joseph Catenaro
Fairfield Board of Education Lyanna Rios
Franklin Lakes Gregory Hart
Fort Lee Alfred Restaino
Hillsdale Christopher Tietjen
Irvington Musa Mallik
Lodi Vincent Caruso
Maywood Borough Donna Puglisi
Mine Hill Katelyn Wild
Montvale Timothy Lane
Moonachie Anthony Ciannamea
North Arlington
Oakland Richard Kunze
Park Ridge Julie Falkenstern
Ridgefield Park Adam Macneill
Rochelle Park Robert Davison
Rutherford Robert Kakoleski
Saddle River Richard Molinari
South Hackensack Donan Gambutti
Verona Matthew Cavallo
Wallington Hector Olmo
Wanaque Valley Regional S.A. Frank Covelli
Westwood Durene Ayer
Wood-Ridge Dominick Azzolini
City of Garfield Erin Delaney

2021 BMED Committees

Claims CommitteeWellness CommitteeFinance and Operations CommitteeStrategic Planning CommitteeNominations Committee
Donna GambuttiGregory FranzRichard KunzeGregory HartCommissioner Catenaro
Bob KakoleskiGregory HartMatthew CavalloGregory FranzCommissioner Kakoleski
OpenDonna GambuttiFrank CovelliRichard Kunze Open

Fund Professionals

Executive Director / Administrator PERMA
Attorney Russell Huntington, Huntington Bailey, LLP
Auditor Gary Vinci
Actuary John Vataha
Benefit Consultant Brandon Lodics
Treasurer Joseph Iannaconni
Medical Networks /
Third Party Administrators
Pays the claims for the HIF & provides a panel of providers offering services at small copays and/or contracted rates
Aetna – QPOS Plan/Open Access
Dental Claims Administrator Pays the claims for the HIF & provides a panel of providers offering services at contracted rates
Delta Dental of NJ, Inc.
Prescription Claims Administrator Pays the claims for the HIF & provides a network of pharmacies offering services at small copays and/or contracted rates
Express Scripts, Inc.

For more information about The Gateway BMED Fund and Health Insurance Funds in general, please visit hifundnj.com.